Observations from Proverbs 18

The following are simple observations and confessions based around Proverbs 18.

Verse 2: A fool takes no pleasure in understanding,
but only in expressing his opinion.

I know I am guilty of being far too fond of my own opinion. I pray this blog has not been and will not be a form through which I show that I am a fool.

Verse 10: The name of the LORD is a strong tower;
the righteous man runs into it and is safe.

Not that a praise chorus can cheapen a Biblical truth, but this verse should be refreshing to the weary soul. We have confidence and peace in an Almighty God.

Verse 12: Before destruction a man’s heart is haughty,
but humility comes before honor.

Again, I am convicted of the pride that is rooted in so many parts of my life. May God grant me the gift of humility.

Verse 17: The one who states his case first seems right,
until the other comes and examines him.

Maybe because I am a lawyer, but I like the practicality here. Do not believe the first thing you hear.

Verse 19:A brother offended is more unyielding than a strong city,
and quarreling is like the bars of a castle.

This one holds special warnings for me as I have been too prone to offense in the past year.

Verse 22: He who finds a wife finds a good thing
and obtains favor from the LORD.

Amen and Amen. Hallelujah, I have found her.

Leave a Reply

