Demon in the Bedroom — Part 2

The importance of a daily devotional has been on my mind due to my clash with the snooze, so I decided to study references to daily expressions of obedience or affection in the Bible.

In Numbers 28, God commanded the Israelites to sacrifce the following on a daily basis: (a) An unblemished male one year old lamb at morning and at twilight, (b) a tenth of an epha of fine flour for a grain offering, and (c) a quarter of hin of strong drink for each lamb. These were a “pleasing aroma to the LORD.” (v.8)

In Ezra 3:3-5, the people kept the law by making all the sacrifices, including the daily offerings, AND made a freewill offerings.

In Psalm 68:19, the Psalmist wrote, “Blessed be the Lord, who daily bears us up;God is our salvation. Selah.” If God bears us up daily, how much more should we show affection daily.

In Proverbs 8:33-35: We are told “Hear instruction and be wise, and do not neglect it. Blessed is the one who listens to me, watching daily at my gates, waiting beside my doors. For whoever finds me finds life and obtains favor from the LORD.” It is clear that “watching daily at my gates” means that we should daily seek out wisdom from God. And the word watching tells me that we should be alert, deliberate and intense.

In the Lord’s Prayer in Matthew 6, Jesus says “Give us this day our daily bread.” This implies the need both for daily prayer, but also a daily expression to God of our dependence on His provision.

Luke 9:23 tells us to take up our cross daily. The more noble jews in Acts 17:10 examined the scriptures daily.

But daily obedience is not enough. In Isaiah 58, God tell his people that daily seeking God is is meaningless to Him if later we turn to our own pleasures, if we quarrel and if we dont share our bread with the hungry. That whole chapter is a great view into God’s perception of our “Christian Rituals.”

May the God of the “noble jews” give me His grace to be consistent in my daily devotions and may the same God, God of Isaiah, give me a sincere and faithful heart as I search for His face.

Leave a Reply

